Pell Center

The Pell Center for International Relations and Public Policy at Salve Regina is a multidisciplinary research center focused at the intersection of politics, policies and ideas.

Fifty-Six Rhode Island Students Awarded Pell Medal for Excellence in U.S. History

Newport, R.I. — Fifty-six students from across Rhode Island have earned the Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for U.S. History this year.  The award was originally presented by Senator Claiborne Pell and his wife, Mrs. Nuala Pell, recognizes college and high school students in the state who have excelled in U.S. History.

Established by the Pell family, the Pell Medal is named for Representative Herbert C. Pell and his son, Senator Claiborne Pell.  Herbert Pell served as a member of Congress and American Minister to Portugal and Hungary, while Claiborne Pell, who is responsible for the creation of the Pell Grants and the National Endowment for the Humanities, served in the Senate for 36 years and worked to strengthen American foreign policy.  The medal, which features a pelican on the left side and an anchor on the right, symbolizes the Pell family and the state of Rhode Island.  The Pell Center at Salve Regina University is proud to honor outstanding students of American history in Rhode Island.

The winners of the 2021 Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for excellence in the study of U.S. History are:


Elija Davis, Barrington High School

Ibrahim Falls, St. Andrew’s School


Chelsea Goodman, Mt. Hope High School

Carmen Mei, Roger Williams University

Central Falls

Karen Figueroa, Central Falls High School


Aiden Ward, Coventry High School


Rachel Cabral, Cranston High School East


Thomas Goggin, Cumberland High School

East Greenwich

Lila Somvanshi, East Greenwich High School

East Providence

Lola Abel, Providence Country Day School

George Benziger, East Providence High School


Kaitlyn Pristawa, Burrillville High School


Nicholas Petrillo, Johnston Senior High School


Austin Coppinger, University of Rhode Island


Jordan Amorim, Lincoln High School

Hailey Otero, Davies High School


Eoin Egan, Middletown High


Rhiannon Trunzo, Ponaganset High School


Andrew Simone, Narragansett High School


Margaret Coen, Rogers High School

Kyra Dezjot, Salve Regina University

North Kingstown

Jack Watson, North Kingstown High School

Samantha Williams, North Providence High School


Arissa Campbell, Charles E. Shea High School

Kendra Dos Santos Landim, Blackstone Academy Charter School

Alious Sissoko, William E Tolman High School


Amalie Kamen, Portsmouth Abbey

Maeve Sullivan, Portsmouth High School


Catherine Adams, School One

Kyle Burgess, Providence College

Nicholas Griffin, Classical High School

Noel Holl, Rhode Island College

Eleanor Jenkins, La Salle Academy

Maddalena Ledezma, Lincoln School

Ethan Murakami, Rhode Island School of Design

Aisha Odetunde, Hope High School

Melanie Pincus, Brown University

Alyson Newsome, Paul Cuffee Upper School


Kylie Mulhearn, St. Mary Academy Bay View

South Kingstown

Daniel McGovern, South Kingstown High School


Olivia Barone, Scituate High School


Alyse Beauchemin, Bryant University

Olivia Bilotti, Smithfield High School


Gwyneth Hallman, Tiverton High School

West Greenwich

Quinn Budnick, The Greene School


Aiden Skidds, The Prout School


Nicholas Maroni, Pilgrim High School

Alex Mehta, Toll Gate High School

Nigel Stafford, Bishop Hendricken High School

Nathaniel Powers, Exeter West Greenwich High School

West Warwick

Mae D’Ambra, West Warwick High School


David Bilotto, Westerly High School

Wood River Junction

Isabelle Sullivan-Rackliff, Chariho High School


Ethan Brodeur, Beacon Charter High School for the Arts

Daliza Reinoso, Woonsocket High School

Sean Trottier, Mount Saint Charles Academy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *