Pell Center

The Pell Center for International Relations and Public Policy at Salve Regina is a multidisciplinary research center focused at the intersection of politics, policies and ideas.

61 Students Awarded Pell Medal for Excellence in U.S. History

Newport, R.I.— 61 Rhode Island students earned the Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for U.S. History this year. The medal, originally presented by Senator Claiborne Pell and his wife, Mrs. Nuala Pell, recognizes college and high school students in the state who have excelled in U.S. History.

“The students in Rhode Island continue to earn well-deserved recognition for their exceptional dedication to U.S. history,” said Clay Pell. “It has long been a goal of my family to learn from the past and prepare for the future.”

“Understanding our history is critical to the health of our republic,” said Pell Center Executive Director Dr. Jim Ludes. “The Pell Center is proud to continue honoring those Rhode Island students who have excelled in the study of American history.”

Established by the Pell family, the Pell Medal is named for Representative Herbert C. Pell and his son, Senator Claiborne Pell. Herbert Pell served as a member of Congress and American Minister to Portugal and Hungary, while Claiborne Pell, who is responsible for the creation of the Pell Grants and the National Endowment for the Humanities, served in the Senate for 36 years and worked to strengthen American foreign policy.

The winners of the 2016 Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for excellence in the study of U.S. History are:

Dagoberto Nunez, St. Andrew’s School
Morgan Brown, Barrington High School

Caroline Roohr, Roger Williams University
Sarah Ricks, Mt. Hope High School

Central Falls
Christopher Fontes, Central Falls High School

Hannah Sheldon, Coventry High School

Miya Lohmeier, Cranston High School East

Sean Bradley, Cumberland High School

East Greenwich
Anessa Petteruti, Rocky Hill School
Eitan Vilker, East Greenwich High School

East Providence
Nicholas Guarino, East Providence High School
Lucy Ehrlich, Providence Country Day School

Liam Garvey, Smithfield High School

Antonio Rua, Burrillville High School

Davina Phouthakoun, Johnston Senior High School

Jacob Marrocco, University of Rhode Island

Michael J. Matkowski, Lincoln High School
Leonidez Lorenzo, William M. Davies Jr. Career and Technical High School

Carlos Vasquez, Middletown High School
Eva Killenberg, St. George’s School

Marissa McPhillips, Narragansett High School
Jonathan Lehourites, Middlebridge School

Brooke Warner, Paul W. Crowley East Bay MET School
Abby Wasylean, Rogers High School

North Kingstown
Jacob Maguire, North Kingstown High School

North Providence
Hannah Grivers, North Providence High School

North Scituate
Kyle Corry, Ponaganset High School

North Smithfield
Eric Ethier, North Smithfield High School

Patience Adegboyega, Charles E. Shea Senior High School
Zachary Wyllie, William E. Tolman High School
Jeidy Par, Blackstone Academy Charter School

Madeline Hobbs, Portsmouth High School
Johanna Appleton, Portsmouth Abbey

Emily Fisher, Rhode Island College
Margareth Cruz, Central High School
Tyler Stein, Providence College
Heather McLeod, Rhode Island School of Design
Michelle Johnson, Brown University
Allison Paul, La Salle Academy
Samuel Martinez, Classical High School
Seth Antoch, School One
Jessica March, Lincoln School
Ping Promrat, The Wheeler School
Edwin Lantigua, Paul Cuffee Upper School

Jamie Tebeau, St. Mary Academy Bay View

Nicolas Pezzullo, Scituate High School

Kurt Deion, Bryant University

Matthew Marasco, The Prout School
Rosalind Lucier, South Kingstown High School

Max Hempe, Bishop Hendricken High School
Brandon Lawton, Pilgrim High School
Thao Pham, Warwick Veterans Memorial High School
Lindsay Russell, Toll Gate High School
John Cuthbertson, Community College of Rhode Island

West Greenwich
Hillary Gallagher, Exeter West Greenwich High School

West Warwick
Alec Charon, West Warwick High School

Joseph Brodeur, Westerly High School

Wood River Junction
Marissa Alfiero, Chariho Regional High School

John Montani, Mount Saint Charles Academy
Katyanna Colburn, Beacon Charter High School for the Arts
Lilia Merbouche, Woonsocket High School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *