Pell Center

The Pell Center for International Relations and Public Policy at Salve Regina is a multidisciplinary research center focused at the intersection of politics, policies and ideas.

61 Students Awarded Pell Medal for Excellence in U.S. History

Newport, R.I. — 61 students from across Rhode Island earned the Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for U.S. History this year. The medal, originally presented by Senator Claiborne Pell and his wife, Mrs. Nuala Pell, recognizes college and high school students in the state who have excelled in U.S. History.

“The students in Rhode Island continue to earn well-deserved recognition for their exceptional dedication to U.S. history,” said Clay Pell. “It has long been a goal of my family to learn from the past and prepare for the future.”

“Studying our past and truly understanding it fosters well-rounded citizens and future leaders,” said Pell Center Executive Director, Dr. Jim Ludes. “The Pell Center is proud to continue honoring those Rhode Island students who have excelled in the study of American history.”

Established by the Pell family, the Pell Medal is named for Representative Herbert C. Pell and his son, Senator Claiborne Pell. Herbert Pell served as a member of Congress and American Minister to Portugal and Hungary, while Claiborne Pell, who is responsible for the creation of the Pell Grants and the National Endowment for the Humanities, served in the Senate for 36 years and worked to strengthen American foreign policy.

The winners of the 2018 Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for excellence in the study of U.S. History are:


Madison Palmieri, Barrington High School

Hong Tao Zhu, St. Andrew’s School


Ryder Ferris, Mt. Hope High School

Daniel Pittore, Roger Williams University

 Central Falls

Manuel Gomez, Central Falls High School


Audrey Buffi, Coventry High School


Emma Boucher, Cranston High School East


Caroline Squizzero, Cumberland High School

East Greenwich

Benjamin Weinstein, East Greenwich High School

Esteban Wu, Rocky Hill School

East Providence

Alexander Costa, East Providence High School

Henry Schaefer, Providence Country Day School


Elliot Lafond, Burrillville High School


Abigail Agnew, Johnston Senior High School


Autumn Elizabeth Guillotte, University of Rhode Island


Bethany Reeve, Lincoln High School

Lillian Rida, William M. Davies Jr. Career and Technical High School


Natalie Huntoon, Middletown High School


Anna Pratt, Narragansett High School


Jack Garforth, Rogers High School

Allison Graves, Salve Regina University

North Kingstown

Nora Ong, North Kingstown High School

North Providence

Stephen Grivers, North Providence High School

North Scituate

Jacob Harwood, Ponaganset High School

North Smithfield

Katarina Dulude, North Smithfield High School


Melanie Gomes, Charles E. Shea Senior High School

Bryce Gillis, St. Raphael Academy

Sinavath Minea, William E. Tolman High School

America Ordoñez Pineda, Blackstone Academy Charter School


Daniel Pantini, Portsmouth High School


Ernest Andreoli III, Providence College

Marisa Calise, Rhode Island College

Ceili Florence Conway, Rhode Island School of Design

Olivia Cooley, Moses Brown School

Morgan DeLaCruz, The Metropolitan Regional Career and Technical Center

Kerrick Edwards, Brown University

Moises Lozano, Hope High School

Peyton Luiz, La Salle Academy

Sophia Papandonatou, The Wheeler School

Elianny Ramirez, Central High School

Noah Salvatore, School One

Ruby Schlaker, Classical High School

Faye Thompson, Lincoln School


Sydney Ellis, St. Mary Academy Bay View


Justin Andreozzi, Scituate High School


Timothy Ferron, Smithfield High School

Zeynap Kazmaz, Bryant University


Samantha Bond, Tiverton High School


Lillian Hogan – South Kingstown High School

Gregory Violet, The Prout School


Helen He, Pilgrim High School

Chana Odom, Community College of Rhode Island

Nicholas Petrone, Toll Gate High School

Joseph Quijioc, Bishop Hendricken High School

West Greenwich

Tessa Lyman, Exeter West Greenwich High School

West Warwick

Marissa Carlone, West Warwick High School


John Mancini, Westerly High School

Wood River Junction

Elizabeth Coppes, Chariho Regional High School


Rachel Breitenbach, Mount Saint Charles Academy

Dominique DiSpirito, Woonsocket High School

Michael Rannacher, Beacon Charter High School for the Arts


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *