• 45 Rhode Island Students Awarded Pell Medal for Excellence in U.S. History.

    Newport, R.I. — Forty-five students from across Rhode Island have earned the Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for U.S. History this year. The award was originally presented by Senator Claiborne Pell and his wife, Mrs. Nuala Pell, recognizes college and high school students in the state who have excelled in U.S. History.

    “The Pell Center at Salve Regina University is proud to honor outstanding students of American history in Rhode Island,” said Pell Center Executive Director, Dr. Jim Ludes. “Now more than ever, we need to look at history with clear eyes and understanding about our republic, its founding principles, and those examples of both when we lived up to those ideals, and when we have not.”

    Established by the Pell family, the Pell Medal is named for Representative Herbert C. Pell and his son, Senator Claiborne Pell. Herbert Pell served as a member of Congress and American Minister to Portugal and Hungary, while Claiborne Pell, who is responsible for the creation of the Pell Grants and the National Endowment for the Humanities, served in the Senate for 36 years and worked to strengthen American foreign policy. The medal, which features a pelican on the left side and an anchor on the right, symbolizes the Pell family and the state of Rhode Island. 

    The winners of the 2020 Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for excellence in the study of U.S. History are:


    Lorelei Alverson, Barrington High School

    Ethan Ciak, St. Andrew’s School


    Robert O’Dell, Roger Williams University

    Central Falls

    Lorraine Quintero, Central Falls High School


    Alexander Lavoie, Coventry High School


    Maura Potter, Cranston High School East


    John Ayick, Cumberland High School

    East Greenwich        

    Jordan Kalinsky, East Greenwich High School

    East Providence       

    Jacob Rivet, Providence Country Day School

    Alexis Silva, East Providence High School


    Hannah Eaton, Burrillville High School


    Madisyn Turcotte, Johnston Senior High School


    Cameron W. Garvey, University of Rhode Island


    Alec Buffi, Community College of Rhode Island

    Nathan Surmeian, Lincoln High School

    Nicholas Croce, William M. Davies, Jr. Career and Technical High School


    Alison McCadden, Narragansett High School


    Cailin Martin, Rogers High School

    North Kingstown     

    Alaina Minarik, North Kingstown High School

    North Providence     

    Nicholas Barrow, North Providence High School


    Erick Luciano, Blackstone Academy Charter School


    Enrique Echervarria, William E. Tolman High School

    Daniel Soares, Shea High School


    Ava Park, Portsmouth Abbey School


    Christopher Azar, La Salle Academy

    Amarylis Cruz, Paul Cuffee Upper School

    Nicholas Dwyer, Rhode Island College

    Grace Jordan, Classical High School

    Rachel Lynch, Providence College

    Leah Marchant, Rhode Island School of Design

    Dewa Putra, Central High School

    Xander Schenck, School One

    Kobii Spruill, Lincoln School

    Leah Tabor, Scituate High School


    Connor Henderson, Bryant University


    Angelin Santerre, Tiverton High School


    Charlotte Frost, Pilgrim High School

    Michael Graves, Toll Gate High School

    Noah Sullivan, Bishop Hendricken High School

    West Warwick          

    Grant Black, West Warwick High School


    Sean Rafferty, Westerly High School

    Wood River Junction          

    Andrew Poirier, Chariho High School


    Ajiehume Ceesay, Woonsocket High School

    Crickett Fisher, Beacon Charter High School for the Arts

    Everett Misto, Mount Saint Charles Academy

    Related Posts

Leave a reply.