• Rhode Island Students Awarded 2019 Pell Medal for Excellence in U.S. History

    Newport, R.I. — Fifty-nine students from across Rhode Island earned the Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for U.S. History this year. The medal, originally presented by Senator Claiborne Pell and his wife, Mrs. Nuala Pell, recognizes college and high school students in the state who have excelled in U.S. History.

    “The study of history is essential to understanding and protecting our republic,” said Pell Center Executive Director, Dr. Jim Ludes. “The Pell Center at Salve Regina University is proud to continue honoring Rhode Island’s best students of American history.”

    “The students in Rhode Island continue to earn well-deserved recognition for their exceptional dedication to U.S. history,” said Clay Pell. “It has long been a goal of my family to learn from the past and prepare for the future.”

    Established by the Pell family, the Pell Medal is named for Representative Herbert C. Pell and his son, Senator Claiborne Pell. Herbert Pell served as a member of Congress and American Minister to Portugal and Hungary, while Claiborne Pell, who is responsible for the creation of the Pell Grants and the National Endowment for the Humanities, served in the Senate for 36 years and worked to strengthen American foreign policy.

    The winners of the 2019 Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for excellence in the study of U.S. History are:


    Daniel Sheinberg, Barrington High School

    Paige Buckett, St. Andrew’s School


    Ella Hanley, Mt. Hope High School

    Carolyn Westgate, Roger Williams University

    Central Falls

    Jacqueline Jimenez, Central Falls High School


    Zoe Adams, Coventry High School


    Eden Fisher, Cranston East High School


    Julie Andrade, Cumberland High School

    East Greenwich

    Nicholas Sanzi, East Greenwich High School

    East Providence

    Gabrielle Patrone, East Providence High School

    Laura McCarty, Providence Country Day School


    Noel Teter, Burrillville High School


    Sophia DaCosta, Johnston Senior High School


    Cosette Boucher, University of Rhode Island


    Nicholas Gaitanis, Lincoln High School

    Patrick Kelly, William M. Davies Jr. Career and Technical High School


    Daniel Sullivan, Middletown High School


    Owen McCadden, Narragansett High School


    Samantha Farnsworth, Salve Regina University

    Noah Manuel, Rogers High School

    North Kingstown

    Samuel Williams, North Kingstown High School

    North Providence

    Tina Chen, North Providence High School

    Mel Ea, Moses Brown School

    North Scituate

    Jordan McGuire, Ponaganset High School

    North Smithfield

    Emma Grant, North Smithfield High School


    Norman Colindrez Rodrigues, Blackstone Academy Charter School

    Ryan Deschene, Saint Raphael Academy

    Evelina Do Rosario-De Barros, Shea High School

    Jordan Klemanchuck, William E. Tolman High School


    Rebecca Downs-Honey, Portsmouth High School


    Richard Aitchison, Rhode Island College

    Anabeth O. Bostrup, Rhode Island School of Design

    Tyler Gillette, La Salle Academy

    Sophie Kupetz, Brown University

    Haley Long, Classical High School

    Amiya Mandapati, Lincoln School

    Christian Martinez, Central High School

    Laisha Mendez, Hope High School

    Nicholas Moran, Providence College

    Mikayla Ogni, School One

    Gideon Parker, The Wheeler School

    Joharianis Rodriguez, Paul Cuffee Upper School


    Shannon Dilorio, St. Mary Academy Bay View


    Conal Wilkie, Scituate High School


    Victoria Richard, Smithfield High School

    South Kingstown

    Caroline Parente, South Kingstown High School


    Sarah Downey, Tiverton High School


    Benjamin Silvia, The Prout School


    Joseph D’Alfonso, Bishop Hendricken High School

    Jamee Salisbury, Pilgrim High School

    Rebecca Carcieri, Toll Gate High School

    West Greenwich

    Timothy Culton, The Greene School

    West Warwick

    Megan O’Kelly, West Warwick High School

    Michelina Smith, Exeter-West Greenwich High School


    Adrianna Turano, Westerly High School

    Wood River Junction

    Sara Nunes, Chariho High School


    Alicia Bergeron, Mount Saint Charles Academy

    Bridget Damon, Woonsocket High School

    Emma Morris-Mensah, Beacon Charter High School for the Arts

    Related Posts

Leave a reply.