• 62 Rhode Island Students Awarded Pell Medal For Excellence In U.S. History

    Newport, R.I. — Sixty-two students from across Rhode Island have earned the Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for U.S. History this year.  Originally presented by Senator Claiborne Pell and his wife Nuala Pell, the award recognizes college and high school students in the state who have excelled in U.S. History.

    Established by the Pell family, the Pell Medal is named for Representative Herbert C. Pell and his son, Senator Claiborne Pell.  Herbert Pell served as a member of Congress and American Minister to Portugal and Hungary, while Claiborne Pell, who is responsible for the creation of the Pell Grants and the National Endowment for the Humanities, served in the Senate for 36 years and worked to strengthen American foreign policy.  The medal, which features a pelican on the left side and an anchor on the right, symbolizes the Pell family and the state of Rhode Island.  The Pell Center at Salve Regina University is proud to honor outstanding students of American history in Rhode Island.

    The winners of the 2022 Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for excellence in the study of U.S. History are:


    Jakub Ozarek, St. Andrew’s School

    Yael Goldstein, Barrington High School


    Addison Boisvert, Roger Williams University

    Noelle Craveiro, Roger Williams University

    Chase Jackson, Mt. Hope High School

    Central Falls

    Darisel Velez, Central Falls High School


    Owen Morelli, Coventry High School


    Anika Poshkus, Cranston High School East


    Megan Taylor, Cumberland High School

    East Greenwich

    Cyrus Davoudi, East Greenwich High School

    East Providence

    Finley Stock-Guild, Providence Country Day School

    Grant Wosencroft, East Providence High School


    Bridgette Golden, Burrillville High School


    Ava Palma, Johnston Senior High School


    Madison Warwick, University of Rhode Island


    Brady Mellen, Lincoln High School

    Gabriella Wiggins, William M. Davies Jr. Career & Technical High School


    Isabelle Huntoon, Middletown High School


    Gary Jennison, Narragansett High School


    Eleanor Coen, Rogers High School

    Cecilia Sanders, Salve Regina University

    North Kingstown

    Tanner Mitchell, North Kingstown High School

    North Providence

    Emily Barrow, North Providence High School


    Isabella Lapriore, William E Tolman High School

    Benjamin Leiva, Blackstone Academy Charter School

    Oluwatosin Okele, Saint Raphael Academy

    Luis Andrade, Shea High School


    Cheonjung Kim, Portsmouth Abbey School

    Amory Kirwin, Portsmouth High School


    Omofolarin Baloguin, Classical High School

    Ryan Childs, Rhode Island College

    Kate Dario, Brown University

    William Kopans, The Wheeler School

    Abby Lee, Moses Brown School

    Rachel F. Lee, Rhode Island School of Design

    Rey A. Londres​​​​​​, Rhode Island School of Design

    Lauren Richard, La Salle Academy

    Gretchen Richardson, Providence College

    Martha Savage, Lincoln School

    Deren Sozer, School One

    Johany Duran, Central High School

    Ashley Herrera Mantanico, Paul Cuffee School


    Grace Bourassa, St. Mary Academy Bay View


    Julia Robichaud, North Smithfield High School


    Maya Hanna, Ponaganset High School

    Julienne Racine, Scituate High School

    Alexa Barrows, Bryant University


    Paige Klos, Tiverton High School

    West Greenwich

    Frederick Minda, The Greene School

    Kaia Bennet, Exeter-West Greenwich High School


    Aubrey Costello, South Kingstown High School

    Jesse Fitzelle-Jones, The Prout School


    Emily Goldman, Pilgrim High School

    Alexander Morin, Bishop Hendricken High School

    Thomas Torres, Toll Gate High School

    Jennifer Viera, Community College of Rhode Island


    Chiara Andrews, Westerly High School

    Wood River Junction

    Maisie Datson, Chariho High School


    Emily Dulak, Woonsocket High School

    Emily Jalette, Beacon Charter High School

    Marykate Maguire, Mount Saint Charles Academy

    Related Posts

Leave a reply.