Pell Center

The Pell Center for International Relations and Public Policy at Salve Regina is a multidisciplinary research center focused at the intersection of politics, policies and ideas.

55 Rhode Island Students Awarded Pell Medal for Excellence in U.S. History

NEWPORT, R.I. — Fifty-five students from across Rhode Island have earned the Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for U.S. History this year.  Originally presented by Senator Claiborne Pell and his wife Nuala Pell, the award recognizes college and high school students in the state who have excelled in U.S. History.

Established by the Pell family, the Pell Medal is named for Representative Herbert C. Pell and his son, Senator Claiborne Pell.  Herbert Pell served as a member of Congress and American Minister to Portugal and Hungary, while Claiborne Pell, who is responsible for the creation of the Pell Grants and the National Endowment for the Humanities, served in the Senate for 36 years and worked to strengthen American foreign policy.  The medal, which features a pelican on the left side and an anchor on the right, symbolizes the Pell family and the state of Rhode Island.  The Pell Center at Salve Regina University is proud to honor outstanding students of American history in Rhode Island.

The recipients of the 2023 Herbert and Claiborne Pell Medal for excellence in the study of U.S. History are:


Justus Anderson, St. Andrew’s School

Sonya Pareek, Barrington High School


Edda Petrillo, Mt. Hope High School

Central Falls

Jayden Lynch, Central Falls High School


Dylan Langton, Coventry High School


Andy Wu, Cranston High School East

East Greenwich

Alicia Chen, East Greenwich High School

East Providence

Gayatri Buchta, East Providence High School

Kate DiPardo, Providence Country Day School


Olivia Fullam, Burrillville High School


Charles Curci, Johnston Senior High School


Clare Tyler, University of Rhode Island


Kamil Naqvi, Lincoln High School

Taina Marginy, William M. Davies Jr. Career and Technical High School


Kelsey Welby, Middletown High School


Rachel Kelman, Ponaganset High School


Veronica Sabatino, Narragansett High School


Delaney Gouveia, Rogers High School

Lindsey Smith, Salve Regina University

North Kingstown

Sydney Howell, North Kingstown High School

North Providence

Nicolas Upegui, North Providence High School

North Scituate

Ethan Lightfoot, Scituate High School

North Smithfield

Monica Budzyna, North Smithfield High School


Mary Adeniyi, Blackstone Academy Charter School

Adam Budnick, William E. Tolman High School

Zachary Pinto, Shea High School


Joseph Murphy, Portsmouth High School


Jessica Perkins, Rhode Island School of Design

Zoe Zimmermann, Brown University

Fernando Vargas, Central High School

Natasha Connolly, Classical High School

Dario DiMascio, La Salle Academy

Francesca Selvaggio, Lincoln School

Darius Lenus, Paul Cuffee Upper School

Megan White, Providence College

Brianna Hutchins, Rhode Island College

Naomi Awad, School One

Ella Kulper, The Wheeler School


Ciara Mercado-Alvarez, St. Mary Academy Bay View

South Kingstown

William Gates, South Kingstown High School


Reed Bryant, Bryant University

Dylan Campanini, Smithfield High School


Jacqueline Delcourt, Tiverton High School


Meredith Wanta, The Prout School


Daniel D’Alessio, Bishop Hendricken High School

Margaret Quillin, Community College of Rhode Island

Hannah Smith, Pilgrim High School

Cameron Wirtz, Toll Gate High School

West Greenwich

Brielle Bamberry, Exeter-West Greenwich Regional High School

West Warwick

Sebastian Rosa, West Warwick High School


Dominic Lombard, Westerly High School

Wood River Junction

Erin von Housen, Chariho High School


Ezra Cisse, Beacon Charter High School for the Arts

Matthew Zinno, Mount Saint Charles Academy

Claire Richard, Woonsocket High School